BBD – Poison Candy

Was reminded this evening of another event, this one Halloween of 2008, which I note predates both the election and Janus’ trash theft in November.

The main event was a party put on by my friend, an attorney, who worked for an alternative energy nonprofit. They sought to connect inventors to investors. He is the same friend whose ex-girlfriend was Kate Conway who, I have mentioned often, wound up in the hospital as did her father Michael after their condo building burned down under strange circumstances in December of 2009.

The bank bailouts were all the talk of the town and the nation, so I went dressed as Barney Frank.

Some gent, thin, with blond or at least light brown hair I think, dressed in a blazer and only plastic devil horns for a costume showed up at the party. He was in his early to mid twenties. He came up to me and offered me something to smoke, which I took without question. I would later discover that not a single person at the party knew who he was.

I thought little of it at the time. As is usual, I didn’t really feel anything from it. The guy left the party soon after. As I think back on it, he had come straight up to me as if he knew me.

Later on, my partner went home.

Still later, while traveling to visit another party elsewhere, I was stopped by some fellas dressed as desperate day-traders. They had been drinking and we made a moment of it on the street. They asked where the money was and I did my best Barney impression stating some non-committal reply.

Then I returned to my friend’s place.

Later on, I acted very much out of character and insulted my friend and host. Belligerent, I think is an apt description.

I made it a point to come back over and apologize the next day. Though the apology was accepted, this began laying the groundwork for what would come later: essentially the Martha Mitchell effect. They would use these means and methods later to make it seem to all my friends as if I had lost my mind. In fact, it’s probably fair to say that I did as long as one also note’s the long history of this tactic {see item #1}.

Previous to the Halloween party, my friend had had a strange event occur. A girlfriend who came before the one at the Halloween party and after Kate had passed out one day at their apartment. My friend made his own cider and she believed that that was the source, that she had been rufied…by my friend.

He arrived at the hospital, taken aback by all of this, only to find her brother preventing him from entering the hospital room and demanding to know, “What was in the cider?”

My friend told me this story and it was not lost on him that this is the kind of thing that comes back to haunt you when you run for office…something he intended, perhaps still does, to do one day.

What was lost on him was that our own public/private intelligence community, at the behest of some subset of the 1%, are the ones who arrange things like this, just as they do with reporters, pundits, celebrities, and others. Go along with the oligarch-friendly talking points and you’ll be fine. Fail to do so, and you’ll find yourself under attack.

Or worse, like Gary Webb, who revealed that CIA was facilitating drugs into black and latino neighborhoods:

Narcosphere/The Field, “Hollywood’s Gary Webb Movie and the Message that Big Media Couldn’t Kill,” Al Giordano, 10 September 2014:

narcosphere.narconews.com/thefield/5047/hollywood-s-gary-webb-movie-and-message-big-media-couldn-t-kill

Kill the Messenger represents nothing less than Hollywood’s recognition that the new McCarthyism has more often than not come wrapped in a war on drugs. And those that attacked Gary Webb will be cast into the same dustbin of disgrace in which the blacklist proponents of the Red Scare are now buried.

Firstlook/The Intercept, “Managing a Nightmare: How the CIA Watched Over the Destruction of Gary Webb,” Ryan Devereaux, 25 September 2014:

firstlook.org/theintercept/2014/09/25/managing-nightmare-cia-media-destruction-gary-webb

Eighteen years after it was published, “Dark Alliance,” the San Jose Mercury News’s bombshell investigation into links between the cocaine trade, Nicaragua’s Contra rebels, and African American neighborhoods in California, remains one of the most explosive and controversial exposés in American journalism.

Consortium News, “The CIA/MSM Contra-Cocaine Cover-up,” Robert Parry, 26 September 2014:

consortiumnews.com/2014/09/26/the-ciamsm-contra-cocaine-cover-up/

In fall 1998, when the CIA inspector general’s extraordinary findings were released, the major U.S. news media largely ignored them, leaving Webb a “disgraced” journalist who – unable to find a decent-paying job in his profession – committed suicide in 2004, a dark tale that will be revisited in a new movie, “Kill the Messenger,” starring Jeremy Renner and scheduled to reach theaters on Oct. 10.

The “Managing a Nightmare” report offers something of the CIA’s back story for how the spy agency’s PR team exploited relationships with mainstream journalists who then essentially did the CIA’s work for it, mounting a devastating counterattack against Webb that marginalized him and painted the Contra-cocaine trafficking story as some baseless conspiracy theory.

Additional example of collusion between news and shadow government:

Firstlook/The Intercept, “The CIA’s Mop-Up Man: L.A. Times Reporter Cleared Stories With Agency Before Publication,” Ken Silverstein, 4 September 2014:

firstlook.org/theintercept/2014/09/04/former-l-times-reporter-cleared-stories-cia-publication/

“I’m working on a story about congressional oversight of drone strikes that can present a good opportunity for you guys,” Dilanian wrote in one email to a CIA press officer, explaining that what he intended to report would be “reassuring to the public” about CIA drone strikes. In another, after a series of back-and-forth emails about a pending story on CIA operations in Yemen, he sent a full draft of an unpublished report along with the subject line, “does this look better?” In another, he directly asks the flack: “You wouldn’t put out disinformation on this, would you?”

barney

Leave a comment

No comments yet.

Comments RSS TrackBack Identifier URI

Leave a Reply

